Named capital projects — roads, rail, power, hospitals, schools — funded during the 1999–2007 term. Tracks whether the allocated budget actually built the named thing, and how far it got.
11
Total projects
4
Completed
4
Ongoing
2
Stalled or abandoned
completed
What it is
Expansion from single to dual carriageway. Initial ₦70bn, rose to ₦90bn for Sango Ota overhead bridge & beautification. Julius Berger contractor. Redesigned & expanded 2001-2008.
Progress & spend
₦90bn allocated, ₦90bn spent · 100% physically complete · Contractor: Julius Berger Nigeria Plc
Change history
27 Sept 2026Corrected — sourceTier — Reclassified: t2m.org is a hosted academic PDF (Olubomehin, trunk-roads study) — credible as named research, but not primary/official. Was mislabeled "official".
completed
What it is
25km road with Itigidi Bridge, awarded on a 36-month construction period. Conceptualised 1950s (Azikiwe era), reactivated 2003. Cost ₦5.2bn. Completed & commissioned 2006.
Progress & spend
₦5.2bn allocated, ₦5.2bn spent · 100% physically complete · Contractor: Gitto Construzzioni Nigeria Limited
Change history
27 Sept 2026Corrected — summary — Added the contractor named in the cited source (previously "Not specified").
27 Sept 2026Corrected — contractor — Added the contractor named in the cited source (previously "Not specified").
27 Sept 2026Corrected — sourceTier — Reclassified: t2m.org is a hosted academic PDF (Olubomehin, trunk-roads study) — credible as named research, but not primary/official. Was mislabeled "official".
completed
What it is
50km Abuja-Keffi road via Nyanya. Awarded to Setraco 2003 at ₦13.2bn. Completed 2006.
Progress & spend
₦13.2bn allocated, ₦13.2bn spent · 100% physically complete · Contractor: Setraco Nigeria Limited
Change history
27 Sept 2026Corrected — sourceTier — Reclassified: t2m.org is a hosted academic PDF (Olubomehin, trunk-roads study) — credible as named research, but not primary/official. Was mislabeled "official".
Stalled
What it is
Part of Lagos-Kano corridor expansion, launched 2003. Expansion of Ibadan-Oyo section. Total cost in excess of ₦80bn (excluding compensation for demolished properties).
Progress & spend
₦80bn allocated · Contractor: Not specified
Change history
27 Sept 2026Corrected — outcome — The entry was marked "completed" (2007), but the very source cited for it explicitly says the project was still incomplete along the Ibadan-Oyo end as of 2013, and gives no completion date. Corrected to reflect what the source actually says.
27 Sept 2026Corrected — summary — The entry was marked "completed" (2007), but the very source cited for it explicitly says the project was still incomplete along the Ibadan-Oyo end as of 2013, and gives no completion date. Corrected to reflect what the source actually says.
27 Sept 2026Corrected — physicalCompletionPct — The entry was marked "completed" (2007), but the very source cited for it explicitly says the project was still incomplete along the Ibadan-Oyo end as of 2013, and gives no completion date. Corrected to reflect what the source actually says.
27 Sept 2026Corrected — amountSpentBn — The entry was marked "completed" (2007), but the very source cited for it explicitly says the project was still incomplete along the Ibadan-Oyo end as of 2013, and gives no completion date. Corrected to reflect what the source actually says.
27 Sept 2026Corrected — completedDate — The entry was marked "completed" (2007), but the very source cited for it explicitly says the project was still incomplete along the Ibadan-Oyo end as of 2013, and gives no completion date. Corrected to reflect what the source actually says.
27 Sept 2026Corrected — status — The entry was marked "completed" (2007), but the very source cited for it explicitly says the project was still incomplete along the Ibadan-Oyo end as of 2013, and gives no completion date. Corrected to reflect what the source actually says.
27 Sept 2026Corrected — sourceTier — Reclassified: t2m.org is a hosted academic PDF (Olubomehin, trunk-roads study) — credible as named research, but not primary/official. Was mislabeled "official".
Ongoing
What it is
Traverses Ondo, Edo, Delta, Bayelsa, Rivers. Initial ₦138bn (2006). Four contractors: Gitto (Oron-Eket ₦26.6bn), RCC (Eket-Onne ₦29.4bn), Julius Berger (Onne-Kaiama ₦86bn), Setraco (Kaiama-Warri ₦78bn). FEC approved additional ₦106.9bn (2011) for continuation under Jonathan.
Progress & spend
₦138bn allocated · 60% physically complete · Contractor: Gitto Construzioni, RCC, Julius Berger, Setraco
Change history
27 Sept 2026Corrected — sourceTier — Reclassified: t2m.org is a hosted academic PDF (Olubomehin, trunk-roads study) — credible as named research, but not primary/official. Was mislabeled "official".
Ongoing
What it is
Conceived Oct 2006: Lagos–Kano standard gauge (1,343km). $8.3bn contract to CCECC, soft loan from China. First segment: Abuja–Kaduna (187km). Yar'Adua halted 2007 (funding). Jonathan resumed (Abuja-Kaduna construction 2011). Buhari completed Abuja-Kaduna (2016), Lagos-Ibadan (2021). Obasanjo conceived & awarded contract.
Progress & spend
5% physically complete · Contractor: China Civil Engineering Construction Corporation (CCECC)
Change history
27 Sept 2026Corrected — sourceTier — Reclassified: en.wikipedia.org is a tertiary/crowd-edited reference, not original reporting. Was mislabeled "official".
Ongoing
What it is
Flagged off weeks before handover 2007. Priority attention. Abuja Railway project expected 3-year completion. ₦20bn+ airport expansion also approved. Jonathan continued (61% by 2015). Buhari completed 2018.
Progress & spend
₦20bn allocated · 5% physically complete · Contractor: Not specified (later CCECC)
Change history
27 Sept 2026Corrected — sourceTier — Reclassified: www.thecable.ng is independent press reporting, not a government record. Was mislabeled "official".
completed
What it is
Established Federal Road Maintenance Agency (FERMA) Nov 2002. Mandate: monitor & maintain federal trunk roads. Institutional reform for road maintenance.
Progress & spend
100% physically complete · Contractor: Federal Government
Change history
27 Sept 2026Corrected — sourceTier — Reclassified: t2m.org is a hosted academic PDF (Olubomehin, trunk-roads study) — credible as named research, but not primary/official. Was mislabeled "official".
Partial
What it is
Telecoms liberalisation: GSM licences issued (success). NITEL privatisation repeatedly failed (multiple botched sales). NEPA unbundled 2005 but privatisation completed 2013 under later admin. BPE led process.
Progress & spend
50% physically complete · Contractor: Private sector (GSM operators)
Ongoing
What it is
FEC approved ₦58.6bn May 2007 (13 days before handover). PPP design. ₦42bn for maintenance. Julius Berger later executed under Buhari (completed 2023). Obasanjo conceived & approved PPP design.
Progress & spend
₦58.6bn allocated · 5% physically complete · Contractor: Not specified (later Julius Berger)
Stalled
What it is
A plan for one health facility in each of Nigeria's 774 local government areas: a 60-bed centre with staff housing, an ambulance and equipment. Funded by monthly deductions from councils' allocations, held in an account at what was then Bank PHB (now Keystone Bank).
Progress & spend
Contractor: Mattans Nigeria Ltd (named in a 2022 Senate motion; not independently verified)